I am all ready trying to get ready to host my first Thanksgiving this year and am trying to make as much as possible ahead of time so I am not freaking out on the actual day.  One of my two go-to canning books, "Complete Book of Home Preserving" had a recipe for homemade cranberry sauce, so I thought I would give it a try.  The sauce turned out so delicious, a lot sweet and a little tart.  I am so excited to use homemade sauce on Thanksgiving rather than the regular old jelly mold from a store bought can!
What you'll need:
4 1/2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries
1 3/4 cups water
2 cups granulated sugar
Zest of one orange
Directions:
If you are canning, follow your normal routine to prepare your jars, water bath and lids.  

In a large sauce pan, combine the cranberries and water.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat.  Cover and continue to boil over medium heat until the skins on the cranberries burst.  Add orange zest.  
Remove from heat and cool for about 5 minutes.  Working in batches, transfer the cranberries, zest and water to your food processor or blender and puree until smooth.  

Return the mixture to the saucepan and add sugar.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Increase heat to high and boil hard until the sauce thickens to coat a cold, metal spoon.  (If you put a cold, metal spoon in the sauce the sauce should slowly fall off the spoon in large pieces/chunks - this is how you know it's thick enough).  

Save in your fridge, freeze or can the cranberry sauce.  
Bass
10/13/2011 01:22:32 pm

I'm going cranberry harvesting this weekend, and I need to preserve them until thanksgiving somehow. Maybe I'll give this a try.

Reply
Emily
11/23/2011 04:12:54 am

Hey! Just made this for Thanksgiving and freezing some too. It's really good and EASY. I used fresh cranberries... I don't really like cranberry sauce but this I'll eat - thanks!

Reply



Leave a Reply.