made by Rachel

I saw this recipe in the latest Cook's Illustrated and only decided to make them because my husband LOVES peanut butter.  But to my surprise I ate almost all of them because they were so good!  
Funny story, I made the cookies and was plating them to serve for some company when I realized there was 3 Tbs of butter sitting on the counter...I forgot to add it to the recipe!  The great part is the cookies were awesome without it - makes you wonder what you could leave out that could make your recipes a little healthier!  So if anyone makes them WITH the butter please let me know if they are like to-die-for so I know whether or not to skip it next time. 

To make the cookies, you will need:
1 1/4 cups raw peanuts, toasted and cooled (I toasted them in a skillet for a few minutes on medium heat)
3/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3 Tbs unsalted butter, melted (optional, apparently, because I forgot this and they still turned out great!)
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I recommend JIFF)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 Tbs milk (I used 2%)
1 egg

To make the filling, you will need:
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
3 Tbs unsalted butter
1 cup confectioners sugar

Pre-heat the oven to 350F.  Roast/toast your peanuts in the oven or in a skillet and let them cool.  Once they are cool, stick them in the food processor for a couple pulses until they are finely chopped.
Mix the flour, baking soda and salt together.  In another bowl, mix the butter, peanut butter, sugars, egg and milk.  Add the flour mixture to the peanut butter mixture and stir until combined.  Stir in the peanuts until evenly combined. 
Picture
Proof that I was too concerned with taking pictures to notice that I forgot the butter!
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and use a tablespoon to scoop the dough into balls on the baking sheet, then wet your fingers and flatten each dough ball to about 2 inches wide.  Bake the cookies until golden, about 15 minutes then cool on a wire rack.  They will be crispy and thin - don't worry!  This will taste perfect with the creamy filling.
The Cook's Illustrated recipe said to let the cookies cool completely before putting the filling on, but I wonder how it would be if you didn't wait until they were totally cool because my cookies did not necessarily STAY in a sandwich when I packed them up later...just a thought.

To make your filling, microwave the peanut butter and butter until melted and warm. Stir in the confectioners sugar and mix well.  Put about a tablespoon of filling in between two cookies and let the filling set for a few minutes before eating.  TAAAAASTY!!

If you make these and either use the butter or put the filling on them when warm please let me know how it turns out!   
rebecca cope
3/8/2012 07:01:33 am

um. wow. those look amazing! can't wait to bake some :)

Reply
Jenny
3/23/2012 10:26:30 pm

I made these, with the butter, but I used honey roasted peanuts instead of roasting my own. These were so good, and all my friends agreed. I actually had to give them all away, because I could not handle having them in the house.

Reply
Sara
3/26/2012 03:01:57 am

I made these with margarine and they were yummy and soft.

Reply
3/26/2012 03:06:12 am

Thanks everyone for your comments! Good to know that butter and margarine seem to only make the cookies better! Awesome!

Reply
Emily
3/26/2012 09:07:40 am

Hi Rae,
I made these yesterday with honey roasted peanuts too, and salted butter, and they were really good but SLIGHTLY on the salty side because of that. I would prob do unsalted butter next time which I never really do with baking. Anyway, I added a little more butter to the filling only because mine got a little hard to spread. More butter makes it really spread well and then it gets stiff once cool. Overall, yum, and brought me back to days of those peanut butter g÷irl scout cookies! Thank yo\

Reply



Leave a Reply.