By Rachel

These muffins are so great!  Very hearty and filling and...well....MOIST.  I really hate that word but I can't think of another way to describe them!  I feel like morning glory muffins are undermade - and I have no idea why when they are so good!  This recipe is from the King Arthur Flour website, which has a bunch of really great baking recipes.  The picture, surprise surprise, does not market these muffins well.  Maybe one day I will get some lessons in food photography.  Maybe.  But in the meantime I will keep eating my muffins.
1/2 cup raisins
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups carrots, peeled and grated
1 large tart apple, peeled, cored, and grated
1/2 cup  sweetened shredded coconut
1/2 cup  chopped walnuts
1/3 cup  sunflower seeds or wheat germ, optional
3 large eggs
2/3 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup  orange juice

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Lightly grease a 12-cup muffin tin, or line it with papers and spray the insides of the papers.

In a small bowl, cover the raisins with hot water, and set them aside to soak while you assemble the rest of the recipe. 

Chop or process your carrots, apple and nuts (chopped or shredded).  I got a food processor for Christmas (thanks big brother!) and have been processing anything I can...it's amazing!
In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, spices, and salt. Stir in the carrots, apple, coconut, nuts, and sunflower seeds or wheat germ, if using. 
In another bowl, beat eggs, oil, vanilla, and oj. Add to the flour mixture, and stir until combined. Drain the raisins and stir them in. Use an ice cream scoop to load the batter into the muffin tins (I piled my batter in to the top and still had extra for another 6 muffins - or 18 total). 
Bake for 25 to 28 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes in their pan on a rack, then dump out onto the rack to finish cooling.


Enjoy!



Leave a Reply.