By Miranda

As usual I had a sweet tooth today and wanted to bake.  I was appled and pumpkined-out so my husband hinted at molasses cookies, which are his favorite.  So I waited for my "helper" to wake up from her nap and we went to work.  Not sure where this recipe orginally came from, but I've had it in my box for a while now.  They are thin, chewy and not overly sweet, despite being covered in sugar!! This recipe makes about 40 cookies.
What you'll need:
1/2 cup soft butter
1/2 cup shortening
1 1/2 cup sugar (plus more for sprinkling)
1/2 cup molasses
2 eggs
4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/4 tsp baking soda
2 1/4 tsp ginger
1 1/2 tsp cloves
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
Directions:
Pre-heat the oven to 350F.  Cream butter, shortening and sugar.  Beat in eggs and molasses.  Toss together dry ingredients and then add to butter mixture.  Roll into balls then drop in a small bowl of sugar to coat.  
Place balls spaced out on cookie sheet and then flatten (to about 1/4 inch thick or so) with a flat-bottomed glass.  Bake for approximately 12-13 minutes.



Leave a Reply.