By Miranda

I found a wild rice blend in the bulk section of my grocery store and decided to use it in a soup.  I had some keilbasa in the freezer and this is what I came up with.  I served it with homemade biscuits to add more calories- ha!
Makes 4-6 servings.

You will need:
10-12 oz kielbasa (I used a blend of pork, beef and turkey- stores usually have a variety of kinds), chopped
3/4 cup chopped celery/about 2 large stalks with leaves included
3/4 cup chopped onion/about 1 medium onion
2 cloves garlic minced
6 cups chicken broth
3/4 cup chopped carrots/about 2 large
1 cup wild rice
1/2 tsp bells seasoning (comes in a yellow box with red and white writing on it - I use this in a variety of soups - it's worth buying!)
s+p to taste

To make:

In a stock pot over medium heat, brown the chopped kielbasa. Remove kielbasa (set aside for later), leaving oils in pan.  (Depending on the fat content of your meat, you may want to discard some oil.  I leave most of it in however, because this is where the flavor is).
Add onion, garlic and celery to the pot and stir occasionally until softened.  Add the broth to the pot and bring to a boil.  Add carrots and rice and simmer until rice is cooked through (usually about 40 minutes).  Add kielbasa back to soup and add spices.  Season to taste
with salt and pepper.  



Leave a Reply.