By Miranda

I've always eaten a lot of yogurt, but since I've had kids, we go through a ton of it.  I use it in most recipes that call for buttermilk (biscuits, waffles, pancakes...) and in smoothies ALL the time.  Smoothies are a great way to get your kids to eat fruits and veggies!  This recipe makes plain yogurt - so if you prefer sweetened yogurt, add honey, jam, syrup or fruit.  
Anyway, buying a quart of yogurt costs $3-4 (i usually get stonyfield organic) and for the same price I can MAKE a GALLON of yogurt!  Stored in the fridge it lasts about a month or so.  It is slightly time consuming but I have the routine down and enjoy the results, so its worth it.   

Ingredients:
1 gallon of milk (Raw milk works great if you can find it; if I don't use raw milk, I use 2% Hood brand.  I've found that Stonyfield organic milk doesn't set for me for some reason.  In the beginning some of my batches didn't set, or thicken, so I used the milk for cooking instead (Alfredo or mac and cheese or something).  But now my batches are pretty consistent.  If you have trouble, please comment!!  (Or look it up, there is a lot of info on this online).
2 cups nonfat dry milk (this thickens the yogurt to a better consistency- use less if you want runny yogurt)
1 cup of "starter" yogurt (this has the cultures in it that makes yogurt yogurt- you may use a cup of your previous batch of yogurt if you make it consistently or buy a cup of plain or vanilla yogurt from the store.  I use Stonyfield vanilla).
To make:
In a large pot over low-medium heat, mix milk with nonfat dry milk and heat to 175-180 F degrees stirring occasionally.  (Stirring prevents it from burning on the bottom.  Mine usually takes about 30 minutes to an hour to get to 180 degrees.  If I am distracted (by my kids) I put it on lower heat and set the timer for me to stir and check temp every 10 minutes.  If I can devote myself fully to it, I put it higher and stir pretty frequently).
When it gets to 180F (or a few degrees under), remove from heat and let it cool to 105-110 degrees F. (This whole process kills the bad bacteria before you add the cultures.  If you add the cultures at too high a temp they will die and you'll just have milk at the end).

When it cools to between 105 and 110 F add your starter yogurt and stir it a bit.  Then cover your pot and put it in the oven at the lowest possible temp or just with the oven light on for about 7-8 hrs.  (I've read that some people just wrap the pot with a towel to insulate it and put it in a cooler or next to your wood stove or soemthing to keep it warm.  Basically you just need a warm dark environment to let the cultures multiply).  I do this late at night then leave it in the oven overnight, then refridgerate it in the morning. 

After 7-8 hrs, your yogurt is ready to use!  Refrigerate it at this point for up to a month or so.
This all sounds like a lot but it is really quite simple, once you get the routine down.   

Hopefully you'll enjoy it like us!   



Leave a Reply.