By Miranda

Now that I have had homemade pasta, its hard to go back to a box.  The process has become fairly easy to me so that I can "whip up" a batch within a half hour.  The possibilities are endless - this can be used to make lasagna, ravioli, or just the normal noodle
shapes (if you have the right tools).  I am lucky enough to have the KitchenAid pasta attachments and can now make pretty much everything!  Although I am only like 1/16th Italian (wish I was more), I don't claim to be an expert on pasta or making it.  This is just the recipe that works for me and that I love.
Makes 3-4 servings

1 cup semolina flour
1 cup wheat flour (can use white too)
1 Tbsp gluten (a flour that will help make pasta stronger and more chewy)
1 Tbsp milk
3 eggs
Put all ingredients in a bowl and mix with your hands until it starts to come together.
 It will seem really dry but keep working with it. Eventually, dump it on the counter and knead it for about 5-10 minutes until it becomes a somewhat smooth ball.  
It may not absorb all the flour, or you might need a bit more flour (depending on the size of your eggs).  Cover the dough ball and let it sit for 30 minutes on the counter.  Then either roll/cut it out by hand or use your handy pasta maker.  
I put mine through a million times and keep folding it over until its a nice rectangle, then I start decreasing the width of the press and let it stretch out to the thickness I want.  
Usually I make fettuccine but tonight I wanted an egg noodle type pasta, so I just made lasagna noogles and then cut them into a bunch of wide crazy shapes with my pizza cutter.
Cooking:  Get a huge pot of water boiling (they need lots of space) and salt it well (like 3 Tbsp).  When the water is at a rolling boil, add your noodles and stir.  Fresh pasta will cook much sooner than dried.  Mine is usually done by 4 minutes.  Definitely test it at 3 though so it doesnt get overcooked.

Hope it turns out delish!

Note: My husband, who is super good at bread-making, thinks that the milk and gluten  counteract eachother, but I'm positive that they are perfect together.  The gluten makes the pasta stronger and more chewy, but the milk makes its a little more tender and delicate, despite the gluten.



Leave a Reply.