By Emily

My husband, like many men, could eat red meat every day of his life. One of his favorites to order is a Flank Steak which I never had tried at home until now. This recipe I found in a grilling book but altered a little and it turned out really really flavorful. My husband didn't say a word through dinner, and then finally with a mouthful I get a "Wow, you are an amazing chef". (blush) However, a warning to you, our breath was on fire afterwards from the garlic! I did have some really fresh garlic so maybe that made the difference, but if you don't like garlic, you can eliminate it in your preparation or just tone it down to one or two cloves. All night I was popping Tums (but I am 7 months pregnant and it doesn't take much to get heartburn these days). So it's a potent sauce, not for the weak at heart, but we both loved it and I'll make it exactly the same next time.
You'll Need:

Flank Steak or Strip Steak for grilling (enough to feed 2-3 people)
1/2 c. extra virgin olive oil
3/4 c. chopped flat-leaf parsley
3 cloves garlic
1/3 c. minced onion
1/2 tsp dry marjoram
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
13/4 tsp sea salt (you can add more to taste later)
1/2 tsp black pepper

Mix all ingredients above (I used a food processor for these pics, but I have done by hand too) and marinate steak in 1/2 the amount of the sauce, while saving the other 1/2 in a bowl set aside.
Marinate for a couple minutes, hours if possible, before grilling steak. I had no time tonight so I made without marinating for long and it was fine.

Grill steak on a high temp setting on the grill and throw away the used marinade (usually grill flank steak about 5-10 minutes each side, depending on thickness and desired temp). Let the steak sit for 5 minutes before cutting and checking it. Then slice it up and when serving, use small individual dipping bowls on the side of everyone's plate for the Chimichurri sauce, if you have them. Enjoy! (If the sauce is a little dry/lumpy, add some more olive oil to the bowls).



Leave a Reply.