made by Miranda

My friend Karen made these for me for Christmas and I really really really love them.  The original recipe is from Smitten Kitchen (a favorite blog of ours).  That recipe has some room for customizing, giving you options for fruit, nut and sweetener additions.  I have made them more than a few times now and THIS is my favorite combination.  I cut them up into bars and individually wrap them and freeze them- this way I have no excuse to not eat breakfast.
You will need:
1 2/3 cups oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup oat flour (to make this I grind oatmeal in a food processory or krupps coffee grinder)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1 cup dried cranberries
1 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/3 cup peanut butter
2 Tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla
5 Tbsp butter
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 Tbsp corn syrup
1 Tbsp water

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Grease an 8x8 or 9x9 pan and line with parchment (This is for removing and cutting them later).  Toss together the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  
Put the rest of the ingredients in a microwave safe bowl and heat until butter, pb and coconut oil are melted.  Add wet ingredients to dry and stir well to combine.  Press firmly into your prepared pan and bake about 40-45 minutes or until the top is nicely browned.  
Cool completely in pan, then use parchment paper to lift out bar onto cutting board to cool even further.  Using a large serated knife and a sawing motion, carefully cut them into bars so they dont crumble.  (if you are having trouble, it may be helpful to refridgerate first).  Sooooo yummy!    
4/18/2012 02:37:40 am

Hi girls! I have a question regarding the walnuts and pecans. Do you have any suggestions for a substitute for the nuts? We have a nut allergy in our home, and I was just wondering what your thoughts were, as it looks like too much of a quantity difference to just leave them out. Thanks!

Reply
Rachel
4/18/2012 02:52:45 am

Hi Val! Thanks so much for reading the blog! I would use roasted pumpkin seeds and/or sunflower seeds to account for the missing nuts. And if you need to replace the peanut butter I would suggest using something like SoyNut Butter. I think this would be a good filler...if you try it, let us know how they turn out!

Reply
Rachel
4/18/2012 05:04:35 am

Ok so you got me thinking and I thought before sending a recommendation I should probably TRY what I am suggesting first! So I just made these with no nuts and instead did 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds and 1/2 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds). I also subbed the peanut butter for homemade cashew butter since its consistency is closer to that of soynut butter. The verdict? DELICIOUS!! They are pretty chewy still as they are still warm from the oven...but overall really good!

Reply
Val Slininger
4/18/2012 05:42:02 am

Rachel! Thanks so much!! I am going to try asap!
I love the blog! You girls rock!!

4/18/2012 05:42:33 am

Rachel! Thanks so much!! I am going to try asap!
I love the blog! You girls rock!!

4/18/2012 05:43:17 am

Rachel! Thanks so much!! I am going to try asap!
I love the blog! You girls rock!!

Reply
4/18/2012 05:43:29 am

Rachel! Thanks so much!! I am going to try asap!
I love the blog! You girls rock!!

Reply
4/18/2012 05:44:23 am

Rachel! Thanks so much!! I am going to try asap! Was also wondering about soy nuts.
I love the blog! You girls rock!!

Reply
4/18/2012 05:44:41 am

Rachel! Thanks so much!! I am going to try asap! Was also wondering about soy nuts.
I love the blog! You girls rock!!

Reply
mandy
4/21/2012 11:47:57 pm

oh this is easy- you can leave out the pb altogether and as for the actual nuts, just use other fruits in its place- like extra cranberries, or raisins, apricots, coconut, etc. or even chocolate chips! check out the original recipe on smittenkitchen (they just say 3 c. of fruit/nuts total but dont specify what kinds). hope this helps!

Reply



Leave a Reply.