made by Emily

My husband and I eat ice cream out of the Ben & Jerry's pints at least a couple nights a week (a naughty habit that started during my first pregnancy, but "baby wanted it".  And he had sympathy cravings...which all led to a lot of exercise later).  I don't make my own ice cream often because B & J's just does it so right.  But if I was to think outside the carton, this is a pretty damn good combination that Ben & Jerry should really consider.  It's my rendition of a dessert we love from our favorite restaurant in Jersey City.  It's an ice cream sundae called German Chocolate Cake because of the ingredients, but minus the cake.  I guess we could just call it German Chocolate... 
For two good size servings, you'll need:

A pint of your favorite chocolate ice cream  (we like Haagen Dazs or Ben & Jerry's)

For Toasted Coconut & Nuts:
1/3 cup shredded sweetened coconut
1/4 cup total of combination of chopped walnuts and almonds (I used sliced almonds)


In small frying pan, let the nuts cook for about 2-3 minutes on medium, then add coconut (since this cooks faster).  You want to cook until nuts and coconut are just looking toasty light brown.  Remove from heat and let cook in a bowl set aside.

For Whipped Cream:
1/2 cup heavy cream 
1 tsp sugar (powdered or white granular sugar)


Pour heavy cream in kitchen-aide mixer and add 1 tsp sugar (powdered or white granular sugar works) and whip about 5 min or so with wire whisk attachment until soft peaks form.  
For Butterscotch Sauce:
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup heavy cream
3 Tbs unsalted butter
1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 tsp sea salt

NOTE: Usually I'm all for subbing but in this case, don't sub anything or you may sacrifice the thick sticky texture that makes this sauce great.  I have made it a few times with salted butter, 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream, and light brown sugar, but it just isn't the same. 

Combine ALL ingredients above in small/medium sauce pot on medium heat and bring to a slow boil.  Let boil for about 5 minutes and then let it cool on stove til you are ready to load on top of your sundae.  Pour the remains in an airtight container and store in the fridge.  (3-4 days I'd say, but I have not tested this)
To assemble, top a few scoops of chocolate ice cream with your homemade whipped cream, butterscotch sauce, and toasted coconut/nuts and "guten appetit!" 
5/15/2012 11:19:43 pm

OMG. I made this last night and it was a big hit! Granted I had eyes bigger than stomach and served myself WAY too much ,it was seriously so good! The toffee sauce got sticky and chewy once it hit the cold ice cream and the coconut and almonds were so crunchy and wonderful! Way to go Emily!

Reply
jenny
9/5/2012 08:31:13 pm

hi, em.

i made this for a dinner party last night and the comments made ranged from, "i was born to eat this" to "i could eat this all day long." i guess it was a hit! thanks for sharing.

now i can graduate to more complicated recipes.
jenny

Reply



Leave a Reply.