By Emily

I'm pregnant so my fish of choice these days is salmon because of mercury yadda yadda.... I happened to use Wild Alaskan Sockeye when I came up with this marinade so I'm stuck on getting the same now every time I make it. I'm sure it would taste good with other types of salmon, and even other fish like fresh tuna or swordfish.

You'll need:

For the rub:
1 1/2 lbs of salmon fillets
zest from 1 lemon
garlic salt
pepper

Whisk together:
1/3 c. soy sauce (I like Kikkoman low sodium)
1/3 c. (real) maple syrup (if you don't have maple syrup, you could use brown sugar)
1/4 c. vegetable oil

What to do:
Rub the zest, garlic salt and pepper over the rinsed salmon (no need to dry the fish first).
Pour the whisked sauce over top of salmon with rub, cover and put in the fridge for at least 2 hours. If you can let it marinade longer, of course that's better.

When ready to grill, place salmon piece(s) on top of a sheet of foil and throw away the remaining marinade. Place skin side up and grill for 5-7 minutes, then flip carefully and cook another 5-7 minutes or until opaque or to desired temp. I am not a grilling expert but this method of using foil worked for me to avoid a mess on the grill or in a pan. 

Hope you like it!
Emily
10/23/2011 11:31:49 am

Note: you can also marinate extra salmon at the same time and double ziplock bag it and freeze in the marinade until you need it. I tried this recently and it was great - lots of flavor. You'll just need to let the fish defrost in the fridge for a day or so, or on the counter a few hrs before grilling.

Reply
mandy
1/8/2012 04:00:49 am

hey- just made this for the 2nd time since you posted it and it is sooo good. i didnt have a lemon either time and it was great without it. also, this time i only marinaded it for like an hour and it was still so good. it makes the salmon so flavorful. i did it under the broiler instead of grilling and did skin side up for about 10 minutes then flipped and did another 5-7 minutes. yummers.

Reply



Leave a Reply.