By Rachel

As soon as it started getting chilly outside I started craving warm things for dinner like chili!  Thankfully Real Simple (yes, I know, you all realize this is my favorite magazine now) had a fun new recipe for me to try.  It turned out extremely spicy and meaty, so I altered it a bit and here is what I came up with.  It's delicious!

Here is what you'll need:
2 Tbs olive oil
1 large white onion (I used half a white and half a yellow) chopped
4 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
1 pound ground chuck beef (I used a 90% beef for less fat/oil)
2 Tbs chili powder
1 Tbs chopped chilies in adobo sauce (you can usually find this in the ethnic food aisle...VERY spicy, so if you are sensitive to spice, add a tsp at a time - 3 tsp=1 tablespoon)
1 bottle/can of beer (preferably a dark Mexican beer, I used a local brew's pale ale since it was that or miller lite in our fridge!)
3 pint jars of canned tomatoes (I have these from my own canning, so if you buy tomatoes, I would do a 28 oz jar of whole peeled tomatoes with their juices)
2 15oz jars of kidney beans, rinsed and drained (dark or light, doesn't matter)
2 15 oz jars of black beans, rinsed and drained
Corn Bread, canned jalepenos, shredded cheddar and sour cream for serving (all optional)

Directions:
Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add the onion, garlic and 1/2 tsp each of salt and pepper. Cook, stirring often, until softened, about 6-8 minutes.  Add the beef and cook, breaking up with a spoon or potato masher, until no longer pink, about 5 minutes. 

Add the chili powder and chipotles in adobo sauce (the chilies in adobo sauce may need to be diced, depending on what brand you got...take one large chili out of the can and dice up, measuring out a tablespoon before adding to the pot - they are very spicy so be careful to add and taste if you are sensitive to spicy things!).  If you are crazy, you can add more than a tablespoon! 

Add the beer and cook until slightly reduced, about 8 minutes.  Add the tomatoes and their juices, beans, 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper.  Simmer, breaking up the tomatoes as needed, until thickened, about 20 minutes longer.  Serve with corn bread, sour cream (which tones down the spice if necessary), shredded sharp cheddar cheese and jalapenos.
Emily
10/23/2011 11:25:33 am

Made this today while watching football. We were expecting guests and I got nervous it wasn't going to make enough SO this is how I altered it a bit to get more bulk: I added another 28oz can of crushed tomatoes and another bottle of beer which seemed to give me the amount I needed for 6 people. Then towards the end I seasoned additionally with 1 tsp of garlic salt, 1/2 tsp of adobo seasoning and 2 tsp of liquid smoke (near bbq sauce in the grocery). The flavor was awesome! I served it up as you suggested with cornbread, sharp shredded cheddar, sour cream and scallions b/c I didn't have onions or chives. Delicious! I'll definitely make this my main chili recipe now.

Reply
Mattzo
9/23/2012 09:34:28 am

Rae Rae this is da bom! Good one... I made it with ground pork and turkey, and Emily said it is a perfect 10 out of 10 (I think she gave me the rating so I make it more this fall). I'm calling it the Mattzo variation...

Reply
Rachel
9/24/2012 04:11:30 am

Thanks Matt! I will need to try it with pork and turkey - sounds awesome! And yes, I guess you are allowed to call this your version ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.