By Emily

There seem to be a lot of similar recipes for Chicken Rollatini or Stuffed Chicken, but I can say this one (taken from a few put together with scallions since I LOVE scallions) really rocks.  It's sooo tasty and I have heard that even if you're not a mushroom lover, you'll still dig this sauce.  It takes a little TLC to make, but well worth it!  It's great the next day reheated too.  Enjoy
You'll Need:

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
S & P to taste
2 Tbs flour, + 2 Tbs flour for the sauce
1 Tbs butter + 3 Tbs butter for sauce
2 garlic cloves, minced + 1 for the sauce
1/2 cup fresh basil chopped
4 thick slices of fresh mozzarella
2 eggs
1/2 cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs (or you can crush up some flavored croutons)
6-8 oz mushrooms sliced into small pcs (white button or baby bella work well)
4-6 scallions, chopped small (if you don't have scallions you can use leaks, onions or shallots; I have made with all and it's still good)
2 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup heavy cream
*Pasta or rice to serve on the side

Serves about 4, or 2 people and lunch the next day.
To Make: 

Wash the chicken breasts and pat dry. Put the chicken, in a zip lock bag or between plastic wrap and pound with a meat mallet or you can use the side of a plate.  You want the chicken to spread out to almost double the size and become more tender and easy to work with.   Sprinkle with salt and pepper and 2 tablespoons of flour.

Saute the garlic in butter for about a minute and then add the chopped basil and let heat for about 2 minutes until wilted. 
Spread this mixture over each chicken breast and top with a healthy slice of Fresh Mozzarella cheese.  Roll the chicken up and secure with toothpicks or turkey pins.
Beat the eggs in a small bowl, and have the breadcrumbs ready in a second bowl.  

Dip the rolled chicken breasts in the egg, then the breadcrumbs, and arrange on a baking sheet.

Bake at 375' for about 40 minutes or until lightly browned on top and mozzarella oozing out the sides is toasty and bubbling.  
While this is baking, make the mushroom gravy:

Heat 3 tablespoons of butter over medium heat in a large saute pan (that has a lid to use later).  Add mushrooms and cook until they are browned.  Add minced clove of garlic, scallions and a sprinkle of S & P.  Cook for 2-3 minutes, but stir so you don't let the garlic burn.  
Add 2 tablespoons of flour and let brown for 2 minutes, then add 2 cups of chicken broth and stir stir stir.  Sauce will thicken now, about 5 minutes or less.  Then add cream and stir some more until it becomes less white and more of a brown creamy sauce, about 3 more minutes.  Add chicken to this pan, spoon sauce over each chicken rollatini, cover the pan, and let it sit until you are ready to serve (turn heat off).  This is good with pasta or rice.
Jennifer Nunn
11/5/2011 02:51:51 am

Oh man Emily, your killing me! I have no time to make this today- as I am painting my dinning room and bedroom. (which are both currently 6 different shades) The nesting is in full force-and this HAS to get done today! This little girl is coming any day- and I nearly cried when someone told me this am that she was sure I was carrying a boy- after shopping and gathering girly stuff for last last 5 months!! I love your site- you guys are all as adorable as ever! But, I'm only checking back when I have the time to cook this yummy looking stuff! Hugs to all- love jen

Reply
Susie
4/2/2012 09:18:40 am

This was amazing! My boyfriend thanked me at least 10 times during the meal. What was great about this recipe was that I did not have to change one step. I have found with online recipes there is always some step that needs to be modified. I will definitely cook this again for dinner.

Reply
4/2/2012 11:07:39 pm

I am so glad you liked it! It is one of my husband's favorites too :)

Reply
katie
5/29/2012 07:47:51 am

My family loves this receipe...from my husband to our 8 year old. Our 14 year old son and 12 year old daughter help prepare it...nice way to bring the family together.

Reply
Emily
6/5/2012 05:32:47 am

Hi Katie,
Thanks for your feedback. That's great that everyone can help, and that everyone eats it! I love when I can cook ONCE at dinnertime for the whole family : )

Reply



Leave a Reply.