made by Emily

If you like ginger snap flavor you'll love these chewy gems!  I found this recipe and had a few ingredient sub's since I didn't have the right molasses they called for nor oil, and then proceeded to read it wrong and added the white sugar to the cookie mix instead of saving it for rolling the dough balls in before baking!  Argh!  I was cursing because I finally get around to baking (I'm still learning to manage my time with a 2 month old and a 2 year old) and then I totally fudged it up!  However, this story has a "sweet" ending.  They're great!  Not so great if you're like me trying to lose baby weight, but this is a keeper recipe in my book.
 You'll Need:
2 1/4 c. all purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1 large egg
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 T butter, melted
1/3 cup + 1 T. blackstrap molasses (but I used a brand called Grandma's "robust")
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 c. granulated sugar+1/2 cup sugar separate for rolling the dough balls in just before baking (I used Sugar in the Raw that is large crystal sugar but you can use regular granulated sugar)

To Make:
Preheat oven to 375F.  In a large bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves.

Using a mixer with paddle attachment, mix together the egg, oil, butter, molasses, brown sugar and granulated sugar (this was my mistake) at medium speed.  Add the dry ingredients to the mixing bowl and mix at low speed to incorporate, scraping down the bowl as needed.  Don't over-mix.

Place the extra 1/2 c. of sugar in a bowl and roll 1 1/2" balls of dough in the sugar until completely covered. 
Then arrange 2 inches apart on the un-greased baking sheet.  Use parchment paper if you have it for easy clean up.  Bake for 8 minutes.   
They'll look a little puffy but cracked on top when removed from the oven.  Leave them on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing carefully and letting cool the rest of the time on a wire rack.  Store in an airtight container up to 5 days, but I don't think they'll last that long!
*Note about blackstrap molasses: this makes the cookie darker and gives richer flavor than regular molasses, and supposedly full of vitamins and minerals!
Emily
3/28/2012 05:44:50 am

Btw, when I made these I used WHOLE cloves ground in a food processor because I didn't have ground cloves. Then I put through a wire mesh strainer so all the bigger pieces could be tossed in the garbage. The fragrance from freshly ground cloves was great, so I wonder if that made these cookies better? If you make with already ground cloves, let me know if they are still REALLY good.

Reply
4/3/2012 03:20:08 am

I just made these and they are great! They are super chewy with a bit of crunch because of the sugar...I used Grandma's molasses too and very course decorative sugar for rolling them in. I don't think they would be as good if you used finely granulated sugar. And I used cloves that I ground myself but I ground them a while back, so they weren't SUPER fresh but you can still taste the strong clove flavor!

Reply
Emily
12/4/2012 10:38:42 am

Just made these for Van's class and rolled them in red sugar for Christmas - so cute!

Reply
emily
12/18/2017 07:43:59 am

I make these every holiday, and before baking them this year, I'm sticking 3 small balls together to make "snowmen". This is my lazy no-roll version of gingerbread men. When cool, I'll have the kids ice them and decorate!

Reply



Leave a Reply.