made by Rachel

Once a week my husband and I have pizza night, and my latest favorite is Buffalo Chicken with Blue Cheese and cilantro, an idea I got from a friend during our Super Bowl party...the pizza was a pretty huge hit and while it's not healthiest choice, it is great for every once in a while!  
You will need:
Pizza dough (I have been making this recipe lately and LOVE it)
Blue cheese dressing (my favorite is Marie's if you can't do homemade)
Cilantro, chopped
Red onion, diced (as much or as little as you like)
Scallions, optional, chopped
Chicken, about two cups (I use a rotisserie chicken because I think they have the best flavor, but you can also boil a chicken breast or two, or use canned if you are in a pinch and don't mind canned chicken)
Frank's Red Hot Buffalo Sauce (about a half cup, depending on how much chicken you use)
2-3 Tbs of butter
Mozzarella cheese (again, up to you how much, I use about a cup and a half)

To make:
Pre-heat your oven to 500F and put in your pizza stone (if using).  I usually let my oven preheat while I prep everything else (chop my onion, cilantro, shred the chicken, etc.)  The dough I make says to pre-heat for about an hour before cooking your pizza.  All the while your dough should be on the counter rising.

In a saucepan, melt your butter and Franks Red hot.  Once the butter is all melted, stir in your chicken, and add more Frank's if needed.  You want the chicken to be coated but not soupy. 
Lower the oven to 425 and take out your pizza stone.  Now hopefully your pizza dough shaping skills are better than mine because my pizzas are almost never round.  They usually end up looking like I didn't try at all and just plopped the dough on the stone...but I really do try!  So stretch your dough and make the best circle you can and lay it out on your stone.  

Using a spatula, spread a thin, even coat of blue cheese dressing over the dough.  I liked to get the dressing even on the crust parts for extra flavor.  Now spread your chicken pieces all over, then cheese, then onions.  
Bake your pizza at 425F until the edges are golden brown (or darker if you like super crunchy pizza crust!).  Remove from the oven and keep the pizza on the stone for a few minutes until the cheese sets and it's ready to cut.  
Sprinkle with chopped cilantro and serve...and do yourself a favor and don't eat the whole pie - you will want to!! 
Emily
4/17/2012 03:12:26 am

I made this last night, got pizza dough from a pizzeria down the street, used Ken's Blue Cheese dressing and boiled chicken breasts I had in the freezer. I'm SURE rotisserie chicken tastes better but I didn't feel like getting in the car. Anyway, it was delicious!!! Matt brought it to work with him today and he said the guys were trying to get him to trade lunch with them! haha

Reply



Leave a Reply.