made by Miranda

I finally found a banana bread recipe that I love!  And it is made with wheat flour - even better!  I don't know why, but I always have had trouble with banana bread.  It gets too dark on top and still mushy in the middle, or its too dry, or too bland.  This recipe is exactly how I like it.  It's full of flavor, perfectly sweet, and  (I hate the word, but i have to use it...) moist!!  The recipe comes from King Arthur Flour.  

This recipe calls for 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour, but instead I used 2 cups of white whole wheat, which is a little milder than whole wheat flour.

You will need:
2 cups very ripe bananas (4-5) mashed
1/2 cup veg oil
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
3 Tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup whole wheat flour
1cup white flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

To make:
Preheat oven to 350F and grease a 9x5 inch loaf pan.  Mash bananas in a large bowl.  Add oil, sugar, eggs, milk and vanilla and stir well.  Add salt, powder and soda and stir to combine then add flours and walnuts and stir just until flour is incorporated, scraping sides and bottom of bowl.  Try not to overmix.  

Pour into prepared pan and bake about 1 hr.  Halfway through, I put a sheet of foil over the top of my pan to prevent overbrowning of the top and it worked perfectly.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes then tip bread out onto a cooling rack and cool completely before cutting (otherwise steam escapes and your bread might dry out).  

Yum!! 
mandy
4/1/2012 10:00:25 am

oh- and make sure your bananas are super ripe (browning peels) because i got impatient and wanted to make this again and used bananas that were actually a tiny tiny bit still green on the peel and it just wasnt the same. ripe bananas make the flavor better and sweeter.

Reply
Abby B
4/2/2012 03:22:26 am

Hi! I made this today and it was delicious!!! I have to agree as much as I hate the word, it was moist! Question- how much sugar does the recipe call for? I didn't see it in the ingredient list. I guessed and did 1/2 cup of Splenda and it was yummy!

Reply
mandy
4/2/2012 10:37:21 pm

oh my gosh i am so sorry- just checked the ingredients list and I DID forget to add the sugar- oh dear. so glad yours came out ok. Its 1 c. of white sugar. we are changing it now. whoopsie.

Reply
4/10/2012 04:29:09 am

I just made this with BROWN sugar because I did not have enough white sugar and all ready borrowed some from the neighbor yesterday (why you ask don't I just go food shopping? Laziness.) But it still turned out good! Really sweet and super moist...I still want to try it with real sugar though.

Reply



Leave a Reply.