Recipe by Miranda, photos by Rachel

These muffins are so hearty and delicious, pretty healthy, yet really sweet.  Miranda gave me this recipe about a year ago and I have made them SO many times since.  One time she made them and accidentally doubled the sugar, finding out that 1 full cup of brown sugar actually makes the muffins super chewy and even more delicious!


You will need:
1 cup flour
1 cup wheat bran
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
1 cup mashed bananas (2 bananas)
1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature
1/2-1 cups packed brown sugar (1/2 is the original recipe but we prefer 3/4 or 1 full cup)
1 egg

Pre-heat oven to 375F.  Grease or line muffin tin with muffin cups.  

Mix the dry ingredients and nuts in a large bowl.  
In an electric mixer, mix your bananas and butter.  Add sugar and egg and beat until well combined.  
Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and pour the wet into the dry.  Fold in until just incorporated (I was taught once that over mixing/stirring muffin batter makes muffins less fluffy and more dense).

Use an ice cream scoop, if you have one, to fill your cupcake tins.  
Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown and toothpick comes out clean.


Note: Remember you can freeze any uneaten muffins for grilling/toasting later!
Mary Hoksbergen
11/8/2011 02:06:15 am

These are great! my sister and i have already made them 3 times! we added some home-made apple sauce to them, with some extra apple slices and they were amazing!!

thanks for sharing, LOVE the blog ladies!

Reply
11/8/2011 03:30:56 am

Thanks, Mary! So glad you like the recipe, and great idea to add apples! YUM. Can't wait to see you at Friend's Thanksgiving!!!

Reply
Rachel
1/31/2012 05:22:54 am

I just made these again but only measured for a half batch cause I only had one banana...well I wasn't sure how to "half" the egg so I used a whole egg and I think they came out better than before! I am going to make them with 2 eggs in the full batch next time to see what happens. OH and I used all whole wheat flour in that half batch...which I will try again too. LOVE these!

Reply



Leave a Reply.