Recipe by Miranda, don't-do-it-justice-photos by Rachel

Miranda made apple crisp for a party my family had recently and it was so good, I was caught eating it by the spoonful out of the pan.  I wish I was a better photographer so you could actually see how awesome this is. All I have is the "out of the oven" shot since I made this to take with to a dinner party.  Just take my word for it...any baking recipe from Miranda is guaranteed to be incredible!  

You will need:
4 cups apples (peeled and chopped in big cubes so they can stand the cooking and not turn to mush)
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
3/4 cup quick cooking oats
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened
1 tsp cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg

Directions:
Pre-heat the oven to 350F.   Grease an 8x8 pan (I used an oval casserole dish that worked out just fine).  Spread the chopped apples in the pan.  In a bowl, toss together dry
ingredients first, then cut butter into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter or fork until mixture is crumbly, but well mixed. 
Sprinkle this over apples and bake for about 40 minutes.  This dessert is best served with whipped cream or ice cream.
emily
11/23/2011 05:54:24 am

This is so easy.... Just made this for Thanksgiving! To make it appear a little fancier, I put it in a pre-made pie shell (I know, so wrong, but I needed quick n easy). So it came out like a apple crumb pie - and it's perfect for Thanksgiving! (I did add a tsp of lemon juice to the apples too) Thanks!

Reply



Leave a Reply.